Election Night 2008 (part 1)


As I sit down to write this post to be published on Election night, I find that no matter how I look at it, the post starts the same way:

I can’t believe who we elected to be our next President!

If Barack Obama wins this election, we will be witnessing history, in a good way.  I didn’t know how to find the right words but somebody else said “He is a transforming figure in our history” and I can’t say it any better than that.  I will feel so proud of us (Americans) for getting beyond race, class, and culture, and for voting with our minds and hearts.  After 8 years of what I call Republican Oppression, i.e. a total lack of regard for our own laws and our constitution, Americans have finally figured out that Bush and his entire administration lied and cheated their way into the office of the President, twice, and into an unjust war in Iraq.  People don’t trust the Republicans any more.  And why should they.  And if it weren’t John McCain running, who is only a quasi Republican, I don’t think this race would be as close at all.  If any run of the mill Republican was running against Barack Obama it would have been over a long time ago.  McCain has just enough, or HAD just enough, indepedence in him to get some to stop and think.   

I had a conversation with a friend the other day and found myself saying things like “this election is not about the economy, the war, taxes, education, the deficit, abortion, or who is associated with whom.  It is about the next President’s personality, temperament, and intelligence.”  As a people, we are wounded.  We feel like we were let down and lied to for 8 years.  I feel sorry for the next President whoever it is.  I don’t think that Senator Obama or Senator McCain has a clue what he will be walking into, or what secrets he will uncover, or what messes Bush has left behind to be cleaned up.  And neither do we as voters.  But I do know who I trust to make calm, rational, thoughtful decisions based on integrity and looking at the problems from every angle.  And that is Barack Obama.  Joe Biden was right; Obama has a spine made of steel and he won’t waiver from the path of steadfast corrective action.  John McCain is a rash, emotional, quick tempered, war monger whose first instinct is to simply react with both guns blazing. 

If John McCain wins, I will be aghast that the politics of fear have once again won out.  McCain has so little left of a campaign that I don’t know what he is “for”, I only know what he is against.  And his latest ads are basically saying “Vote for me or you will most likely die at the hands of terrorists”.  That viewpoint is not what we as Americans are believe in.  We want calm, rational thinking.  That doesn’t mean we won’t go to war if that is the absolute right decision.  But it must be a last resort.  As far as Iraq goes, there is no winning, and there is no defeat.  McCain gets so wound up, and caught up, in both of those ideas.  Everything is so black and white with him (no pun intended).  Its yes or no, right or wrong and the decision for him must be made right now!  In these last day of McCain’s campaign he continually and repeatedly uses “Air Quotes” for just about every word that comes out of his mouth.  It makes no sense.  Air quotes are supposed to be used extremely sparingly to make a point.  If you air-quote everything you say, it has no meaning and he ends up looking like a complete fool, or a complete idiot.

I don’t want to get too confident but I can not believe how many conservatives, everyone from Christopher Hitchens (conservative columnist for Vanity Fair) to Colin Powell (Former Secretary of State under Bush) to Scott McClellan (long time aide and former White House press secretary under George Bush) have now endorsed Barack Obama.  I’m not sure if it is sincere.  I don’t know if some of these hard line republicans know that their party is going to take a huge hit so they are tyring to save their careers.  I’m just not sure.  If it all leads to Barack Obama becoming President through the politics of hope over the politics of fear, then I don’t care how he gets there.

If it weren’t for the politics of fear, the Republicans would not have gotten a free ride from 2001 to 2006.  Their power, no, their arrogance, continued unchecked for years.  The things that the Bush Administration and the Republicans in general have gotten away with is nothing less than criminal.  Our basic constitutional rights have been stripped away at many levels and it seems as if nobody noticed.  Do people realize that our own government can listen in on our phone calls, and read our emails without permission or probable cause.  No court or warrant is needed.  Do you realize what the implications are?  And which of the two candidates is likely to rectify this situation?  I know; do you?

So in preparing a post for Election Night 2008, I decided that any post on that night will be short and to the point.  Any analysis of that night will be done later.  I decided to post all of these thoughts that have been running through my head now, before the election.  I can tell you that on Election Night I hope that very quickly after the polls on the East Coast close, I will be able to make my Election Night post and then get some sleep.  Some good old-fashioned, happy the country will be in good hands, the republicans are finally gone, ding-dong the which is dead, sleep.

Leave a Reply

