Who is keeping an eye on George “Lame Duck” Bush?


George Bush has become so irrelevant in these final months of his presidency that nobody is paying attention to him.  The coverage of Presidential Election 2008 is so intense and focused.  Have you heard of, or payed attention to, anything about George Bush lately.  There may be media coverage of him out there, but is it memorable; are you paying attention?

The last thing I remember off the top of my head about George Bush is that uncomfortable exchange between him and John McCain when Bush welcomed McCain to the White House the day after McCain clinched the republican nomination.  It was odd, uncomfortable, and ominous.

If I were George Bush and thought like George Bush (yikes!) I would be concerned at this point what my Presidential legacy is going to be.  How will they remember me?  I’m running out of time to get something down in cement other than the disaster called the Iraq War.

George Bush has the potential to cause a lot of damage between now and November 2008 (actually January 2009 if you go by the inauguration).  All Presidents pardon people on the last day, but who will he pardon?  Will he send troops into Iran?  Is he doing all he can even now to leave the economy in ruins, just so that there is no way the next President can fix it in 4 years?  If I were George, I would be pretty convinced that a Democrat will win the White House this time.  So I would need to do anything to ensure that the Democrat lasts only 4 years in the White House so that a Republican can take it back in 2012.

And he still has China, North Korea, Venezuela, Cuba, Gitmo, Stem Cell research, Abortion, Gay Rights, Supreme Court Justices, Ambassadorships, and got knows what other issues with which he could create havoc.  Maybe he will take executive privilege and add words like “strategery” and “nuke-ya-ler” to the dictionary.

I still don’t trust Bush’s relationship with Karl Rove and Dick Cheney.  While Rove may not be on the “official” White House payroll, I find it hard to believe that he is really out of the picture.  He must be skulking around somewhere in the secret passages under the White HOuse.  And what has Cheney been up to?  Never mind that, where is he?  I would not surprise me, not even a little bit, if some terrorist plot just happened to take place at the exact right time to instill just the right amount of fear in the minds of the American public to affect how they vote in November.  So be prepared.  I hope, beyond all possible boundaries of hope, that nothing happens and that nobody loses their life so that the Republicans can win an election, but just prepare yourself that it very well might happen.  I’m not the conspiracy type, I am the realistic type and I am not comfortable with what these people are capable of.

So George Bush is hedging his bet.  He’s preparing for a Democrat to win the Presidency, but still doing all he can to not let that happen.  It’s all just a bit scary.

Leave a Reply

