Barack Hussein Obama – Cunningham isn’t the first


As ugly as it was, conservative radio talking head Bill Cunningham wasn’t the first to emphasize Barack Obama’s middle name in an attempt to instill fear.  Mike Gallagher, another right wing blow hard, has been doing the same thing for a long time.  I couldn’t tell you which one of them did it first.  Maybe they both got it from the daily RNC talking points memo.

I already wrote about this several days ago in a post I entitled “Conservative Talk Show Host Mike Gallagher thinks YOU are stupid”.  I’m not normally ahead of the curve when it comes to hot topics of the day but I noticed this trend happening a little while back.

Don’t get me wrong.  There is nothing wrong with middle names, I have one, you have one.  Many times there are meaningful translations.  Mine means “king” or “crown”.  But let’s not kid ourselves.  We know what both Cunningham and Gallagher are trying to do.  They want you to associate Barack Obama’s name with terrorism in your brain simply because Saddam’s last name was Hussein.

Gallagher, in my mind, is worse, because he thinks you are so stupid that he had to spell it out for your by saying, and I quote “Nobody with the name Barack Hussein Obama, is ever going to get elected in this country”.  Yes he actually said those exact words on his radio program, check the transcripts.

Or is Cunningham worse by not being honest about what he is really trying to say.  I’m not sure.  They should both remove themselves from any national dialog, including their talk shows, based on the obvious crime of slanderous speech.  Isn’t this really a hate crime?

2 thoughts on “Barack Hussein Obama – Cunningham isn’t the first

  1. I have always considered myself a conservative. I live in Cincinnati and have wondered for years how Bill Cunningham has been able to get away with his comments. His behavior on his show has ranged from saying that Catholics should drag the Archbishop from behind the altar and ‘straighten him out’ to instigating and feeding the fire in racial issues all to get ratings. The sad thing is that it works! The man is now all over the news and I’m sure WLW will reward him well.
    Several weeks ago I became aware of Republican friends (yes, until this election I have declared myself Republican for at least 25 years) who were trying to get the word out that we should vote Democratic in the Ohio Primary and vote for Hillary, since those ‘in the know’ feel certain that a Clinton-McCain battle would pull all Ohio Republicans together, but that if Obama ran against McCain, he might just beat him. BEWARE! Cunningham is an extremely intelligent man when it comes to certain things, such as improving ratings, and long range planning. Is it possible that this entire thing is a win-win for him and his purpose?
    Interestingly enough, I, a middle-aged, white,Conservative Christian, with about an 80% record of voting Republican, have had enough, and have in fact voted already – and for Obama.

  2. Thank you so much for stopping by and for your comments.

    Coming from Maine, I don’t know much about Cunningham so I appreciate you sharing as much as you did with me and my visitors.

    I it encouraging to me that people who have called themselves Republicans for a long time at least are taking the time to reconsider their position or simply just having an open mind to think about things from more than just one angle, that angle being the Republican party line. I have a great deal of respect for you and people like you even if you do vote republican. At least I know you have it some honest thought and did your own research, not to mention that you have your own mind and follow your heart.

    I don’t really understand the idea of voting for Hillary in the primary so that in the end, more republicans will come out and vote for McCain in the national election. It seems to me that the Republicans are running a bit scared now. They are so desperately afraid of Democrats and especially Barack Obama. I don’t know what they are so afraid of. Have their lives really been so great the last 8 years that they can’t bear the thought of change.

    While I am not affiliated with a particular party, and have voted republican from time to time (OK, maybe once), I do believe that Barack is a man who inspires and empowers people. To some that sounds flakey, but in reality don’t we all really want someone who we can stand behind? Someone who doesn’t embarrass us, and someone who believes in truth and the American spirit.

    Sorry, I didn’t mean to get preachy. I just wanted to let you know how much your comments have inspired me to continue to believe in the goodness of Americans and them knowing the right thing to do.

Leave a Reply

