The story of an American and a Saudi – it might suprise you.


In the course writing of my blogs, I do a lot of research.  I research anything available to me on the Internet so that I can try and peel away the layers and find the truth; somewhere.  In my travels on the web I ended up making contact with a 22 year old guy in Saudi Arabia.  Some would say we met under unusual circumstances.  I am gay and he happens to be gay and one night a week ago or so, we found ourselves chatting using instant messaging.  We became somewhat enamored of each other; there was something about the way we talked and shared, the way we flirted and cared, that made me realize that when you peel away all the layers of politics, religion, sex, and lifestyle, we are essentially all the same.  We all want to be loved, we all want attention, we all bleed when we are stabbed; we are all lonely when left alone too long.  We all believe in a power greater than ourselves, we all are sometimes so empty that we want to reach out to anyone who will listen. 

I have so many unanswered questions:  What is it like to live where you are?  What are your freedoms?  What is your lack of freedom?  What is your schedule like half way around the world? When do you work, when do you sleep? What to you think of Americans or any other nationality out there?  I hear the pain in your voice and want to fly half way around the world; this evil world’ and take whatever chances I need to take, to get to you and hug you and let you fall apart from the unbearable pain and let you cry on my shoulder.  I don’t care if we become friends or lovers or neither of these. 

I just want to be there for him.  To listen to him.  To try and absorb his pain away.  I want someone to do the same for me.  To cross the earth by any means possible to get to me and hug me and absorb some of my pain too. 

We are really all the same.  Americans, and America, have gotten such a bad reputation in the last 6 years or so.  But, I think it is reparable.  I feel that because when I talk to people from other countries, some of which I have meet in person and some only online, they are overwhelmed that “Americans” are not what they thought.  They don’t realize that most Americans are thoughtful, generous, caring, loving people who would give the shirt off their backs to help someone in trouble, someone in need, whether it be a physical or an emotional need.

My advice to all of you is ”go out there an make friends around the world”.  The world doesn’t hate American’s, they hate George W. Bush.  (“Hate” is a strong word but in this case, it is appropriate.)  And do whatever you can to make peace, preach peace, and end this crazy war.  If that happens, then we can concentrate on learning from our mistakes (not my mistakes, but the mistakes of the people in power) and not do it all over again somewhere else, like Iran.  My friend from Saudi Arabia is a very special friend to me and hope he will always be special.  Nothing can guarantee that but, we can try.  That is what Americans do.

Spread the word, Americans are good people.

2 thoughts on “The story of an American and a Saudi – it might suprise you.

  1. I justed wanted to reach out and give you a hug. I hope that if you haven’t found a new job yet that you will soon and it will enhance your life in everyway. I really love your blog and check daily to see if you have posted something new.

    It is definitely time to end this war and overthrow this DICK-tator and all his henchmen. Our country needs to band together and stop letting the government and the media fill our heads with fear and lies everynight. We need to take back our country, stop letting fear control our lives and embrace our neighbors.

    Peace.

Leave a Reply

