My new hero – Paul Potts – His story is an inspiration


My new hero:  a painfully shy cellular phone salesman who is in a tremendous amount of debt due to illness.  I hope he wins the competition.

Paul Potts sings “Nessum Dorma” (No one is sleeping) from the opera “Turandot” by Giacomo Puccini in his final performance on “Britain’s Got Talent” (in Britain, of course).  ABC’s Good Morning America first brought attentionto this man.   I had originally posted the semi-final version of this performance which was limited to 90 seconds. The complete version is the one you should really listen to.   Here’s a little tidbit of foreshadowing:  The last line in Nessum Dorma is “al alba Vincero” which is Italian for “at dawn, I will win”.

Paul Potts from “Britain’s got Talent” sings Time to Say Goodbye (made famous by Sarah Brightman and Andrea Bocceli) in the Semi-Finals

P.S.  As some of you may know, he did end up winning on Sunday, June 17, 2007.  He’s is recording a CD and will be singing for the Queen later this year.  I love a good hero story.

One thought on “My new hero – Paul Potts – His story is an inspiration

  1. Paul also moved me to near tears – his voice, his personality, his innocence, even his lack of confidence. He has an amazing untapped talent and I wish him all the best! And I sure hope he wins! I also commend that British audience when they first heard Paul for immediately recognizing his talent! Bravo to all!

Leave a Reply

