PORK


A lot of not-so-politically-savvy people like me don’t know that most bills sent to the president for signing include line items that have nothing to do with the bill itself.  I just found out about this in the last 5 years or so.  This is how the special interest groups get what they want by making deals with legislators.  I am usually not in favor of this practice and it usually pisses me off when I see what was added.

However, in a recent war spending bill – the one where the time-lines for withdrawal were removed – a line item in that bill called for an increase in the minimum wage (finally).   I guess I will have to rethink my position on these line item issues.

Leave a Reply

