Memorial Day


It’s not quite Memorial Day yet, it’s Sunday.  I can only hope that all of the flag encrusted paper cups and napkins being used this weekend bring about some sense of real patriotism.  There is nothing that bothers me more than people who use symbolic, commercial goods and yet have no intention of honoring their true meaning.  It’s like people who supposedly celebrate Christmas (the birth of Christ) and sing “Rudolph” – I don’t get the connection.  It’s like big box stores who have a Memorial Day sale on water pistols.  I don’t get it.

I’ve said it before, and will again:  I’ve never served in our armed forces and have no idea what that is really like especially in times of war.  But I am proud of our men an women in uniform who voluntarily server our country so that I have the right to say and type whatever I want on this blog.

 To my protectors of my freedom, please come home soon, be safe, and know that Americans love and support you.

Leave a Reply

